“I don’t feel the pain I once did; One day it just vanished like a milk carton kid”

Posted: April 24, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Prologue

So as you might have heard, last Saturday was Record Store Day! I was pumped to go to my local record stores and see what cool new albums were released. Unfortunately, I had a track meet that day and I was unable to get to any record store before the day was done. Luckily, my Dad was able to make it and he got some pretty cool albums. He told me that he almost got the Grateful Dead album he wanted, but somebody else bought it just before he did.

Later that night, he went to see Phil Cody play at The Lobero Theatre.  He told me that not only was Phil Cody great, but so was the opening act. So good, in fact, that he bought their record! This record, named Prologue, is by a group called The Milk Carton Kids and is the album that I listened to today.

As I listened to the record alongside my Dad, I noticed that there was something familiar about the sounds of the singers’ voices. They sounded almost exactly like Simon & Garfunkel! My Dad said he noticed the very same thing that night. The voices of these two fellows are so similar to Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel that my Mom thought that we were listening to one of Simon & Garfunkel’s records. It was cool to hear a new record with my Dad since most of the records I listen to have already been heard by him.

Released just last year, Prologue is The Milk Carton Kids’ first studio album. Although they released their first album, Retrospect, last year, Prologue is the group’s first album to be released on vinyl. The Milk Carton Kids themselves consist of singers and guitarists Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan. This group is noted for releasing their albums online for free.

To download Prologue and Retrospect for free, click here!

What do you think of The Milk Carton Kids? Tell me what you think and comment below!

Leave a Reply

