“I’m glad it’s your birthday; Happy birthday to you” -The Beatles

Posted: April 10, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Let It Be

Today is my Mom’s birthday! To celebrate this wonderful event, I decided to listen to an album of her choice. Let It Be by The Beatles is not only one of her favorite albums, but also one of mine. Although the song “Birthday” (as written in the title) is not on this album, I was excited to listen to one of the greatest Beatles records of all time.

As I listened to the album, my ears were met with the sweet sounds of “Two of Us”, a great duet sung by the great Paul McCartney and John Lennon. I had listened to the mp3 version of this record on the album Let It Be…Naked and I had never heard the album on vinyl before. I noticed a few differences when I listened to the record this time. I noticed that there were a couple of songs on the record that I had never heard before. These songs were “Dig It” and “Maggie Mae”. I also noticed that the songs on the record were in a different order than on Let It Be…NakedI found it interesting that the two albums had basically the same songs but in a different order.

Released on May 8, 1970, Let It Be was the last studio album released by The Beatles. Released shortly after the band’s break-up, this album earned the top spot on both the American and British record charts.

Fun Fact: Today is actually the 42nd anniversary of The Beatles’ break-up.

Ever wonder what musical event happened on your birthday? Check out http://www.thisdayinmusic.com/! Comment Below and tell me what you find out!

Leave a Reply

