“Though my problems are meaningless, that don’t make them go away”

Posted: March 21, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On The Beach

Today, I decided to listen to the record On The Beach. My Dad picked out this album because it is one of his favorite albums by Neil Young. He says he really loves this record because of the moody tone and the emotional and heartfelt songs.

I didn’t recognize the album at first, but as the needle found its groove and the music began to play, I realized I had heard this record when I was younger. The first track, “Walk On”, is one of my favorite Neil Young songs; However, I never knew it was on this record. It has a really cool melody and sounds like a really fun song to play. I also really like the song “Motion Pictures (For Carrie)” because my Dad plays it on the piano all the time. Also, I find the lyrics to be very profound.

Released in 1974, On The Beach was released as a triptych along with Time Fades Away and Tonight’s The Night. This record trio was released directly after his chart-topping best-seller, Harvest. These albums became known as The Ditch Trilogy because of their dark, haunting brilliance. When talking about his hit song “Heart of Gold”, Neil Young stated:

“This song put me in the middle of the road. Travelling there soon became a bore so I headed for the ditch. A rougher ride but I saw more interesting people there.”

Comment below and tell me what you think of The Ditch Trilogy! Is it a musical masterpiece? Or a terrible turpitude?

Leave a Reply

