“My My, Hey Hey; Rock and Roll is here to stay”

Posted: March 20, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Rust Never Sleeps

As one of my favorite albums by Neil Young, I was excited to hear the sweet sounds of “Rust Never Sleeps” emanating from the turntable. When the music began to play, I realized that all of my previous memories of listening to this record would pale in comparison to this moment.

One thing I find really cool about this album is that the first half of the record was all acoustic numbers whereas the second half was all electric. One of my favorite songs on this album was “My My, Hey Hey” which is the opening track. This song had a lot of really cool rhymes and metaphors. The verses were short and simple yet the message was conveyed clearly. This acoustic number was paired with the last song on the album “Hey Hey, My My”. This song was almost exactly the same as the first track, however, it was electric. There were few lyric differences but the change from acoustic to electric made the songs sound like they had no resemblance to one another.

Released in 1979, “Rust Never Sleeps” was recorded live at San Francisco’s Cow Palace, with overdubs. The only two songs that were not recorded live were “Pocahontas” and “Sail Away”. The second half of the album was played with Crazy Horse and won the 1979 Rolling Stone Critics Poll for Album of the Year.

Take the poll! Which is better: “My My, Hey Hey” (acoustic) or “Hey Hey, My My” (electric)?

Leave a Reply

