“Everything under the sun is in tune; But the sun is eclipsed by the moon”

Posted: March 6, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , ,

Pink Floyd

Once again today, I peered at the ol’ record collection to see what I could find. I finally stumbled upon a record by Pink Floyd called “The Dark Side of the Moon”. This record had a cool picture of a prism turning light into a rainbow. I thought it looked pretty cool so I thought I’d give it a listen. Yes, I know what you’re thinking: “This kid has never heard of The Dark Side of the Moon?” Of course I have. I am actually rocking the Pink Floyd t-shirt at this moment.                                                              Pink Floyd Shirt                                                                                         What I didn’t know was that this album is the best selling record of all time.

As I placed the needle on the record, I was bursting with excitement to see what all the hubbub was about. At first, I wondered if I had put the record on the turntable correctly because all I could hear was static. Then, traces of sounds and voices began to join in and I realized it must be there on purpose. My Dad told me that he once played in a band with a man named Alastair Greene. Alastair played in a separate band with Alan Parsons. Alan Parsons was an engineer in Abbey Road Studios when Pink Floyd recorded their albums. He was also there when The Beatles recorded their songs! I thought it was cool that my Dad had a special connection with this album, and even better, The Beatles!

As the music continued, I experienced music unlike the the other records I’d listened to previously. It seemed as if the song was never-ending and each individual song led instantly into the next one. Some of the songs didn’t even have any music, all that would play would be sound effects. A few songs that did this were “On The Run” and the beginning of “Time”. I especially enjoyed the songs “The Great Gig in the Sky” (not just because of its name) and “Brain Damage”. My friend Stephen told me about this song and that it was one of his favorite songs of all time.

Released in 1973, “The Dark Side of the Moon” was the eighth studio album released by Pink Floyd. This album made use of advanced synthesizers, multi-tracking devices, and tape loops. This album remained in the charts for 741 weeks, the longest of any album in history. With about 50 million albums sold, “The Dark Side of the Moon”  was Pink Floyd’s most commercially successful album and one of the best-selling albums worldwide.

What are some of your favorite memories listening to Pink Floyd? Do you know anybody who worked with a celebrity? Comment below and share your story!

Leave a Reply

