“A rock feels no pain; And an island never cries”

Posted: March 2, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Simon & Garfunkel

Today, I decided to listen to the record “Sounds Of Silence” by Simon & Garfunkel. My Dad told me I had made a good pick. I picked this album because I have a cool connection with this group. Paul Simon and I share the same birthday! I was excited to hear the famous folk rock music I had heard so much about.

As the record began to spin on the turntable, I immediately recognized the soft, soothing sound of the acoustic guitar. I also heard the sweet harmonies of Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel. I had known that they were famous for their harmonies, but I hadn’t realize how well their voices blended together. I was particularly fond of the songs “The Sound Of Silence” and “We’ve Got a Groovy Thing Goin'”. “We’ve Got a Groovy Thing Goin'” was one of the only songs I heard that were not solely acoustic guitar and harmonies. It was a catchy number and was the second to last track on the album, next to “I Am A Rock”, which also included more than just the vocals and guitar. It was a nice contrast from the natural sound of the guitar and put me in a good mood for the end of the album.

Released on January 17, 1966, this was the second album by Simon & Garfunkel. The song “The Sound Of Silence” was their first major hit and was initially released on the album “Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.” Many of the songs on the album were written by Paul Simon while he was living in London in 1965 and were included on his album “The Paul Simon Songbook” released in England.

What are some of your favorite Simon & Garfunkel songs? Do any famous musicians share your birthday? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

