“Like a rhythm unbroken; Like drums in the night; Like sweet soul music; Like sunlight; I need your love”

Posted: February 28, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

U2

Lately, I’ve gotten so used to firing up the ol’ turntable that it’s started to feel like old hat. Today, however, I had a new record of choice, aside from my Dad’s seemingly endless collection. One of my best friends, Adam, lent me an album of his: “Rattle and Hum” by U2. Adam is a guitarist and is into the Classic Rock scene just as much as I am. You can find his music here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Adam-Betters/240965849325093. This album was a double record, meaning it contained two separate disks. I was excited to listen to an album that my friend had presented to me and see if I liked it as much as he did.

As I mentioned before, I am now very used to setting up the turntable and its getting to be a bit repetitive for me. However, once I start to hear the music come from that spinning saucer of sound, I feel the warmth that listening to vinyl brings and it is all worth the while. The first song I listened to was, surprisingly, a cover of “Helter Skelter” by The Beatles. Although “Helter Skelter” is not one of my favorite Beatles’ songs, I was overjoyed to hear a familiar tune played in a new and different way. As I started to get into the groove of U2’s music, another one of my favorites came along. The song was “All Along The Watchtower” by Bob Dylan. This song was great already but U2 turned it from a folk rock kind of sound to more of a classic rock style that I enjoyed even more. This album was really fun to listen to and has made me want to listen to even more of U2’s work. I especially enjoyed the songs “Desire”, “God Part II” and “Hawkmoon 269”.

Released in 1988, “Rattle and Hum” was U2’s sixth studio album and included elements of blues-rock, folk rock, and gospel. The album was intended to represent the band paying tribute to rock legends such as Jimi Hendrix, Bob Dylan, The Beatles, Bo Diddley, and Billie Holiday. This album was highly successful, reaching the number one spot in several countries and selling 14 million copies.

What are your favorite records to listen to? Do you get a warm feeling when you listen to records? Comment Below!

Comments
  1. AB says:

    I love this record!!!!! U2 rules

Leave a Reply

