You Don’t Mess Around with Jim by Jim Croce

Posted: February 15, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Jim Croce

Today, I decided to choose an old record from the shelf. I found this album called “You Don’t Mess Around with Jim” by Jim Croce. My Dad told me that this was another album that had belonged to my grandparents and was passed down to him. It brings back a lot of good memories for him because this album was played a lot when he was young. In fact, he said that my grandpa was friends with Jim Croce when they were in college at Villanova University in the 60’s. To be listening to music that my grandparents listened to seemed really cool, so I was excited to hear what their music was like.

When I first started listening to the record, I noticed there were a lot of crackles and snaps. I assumed that this was going to happen since it was much older than the other records I’d listened to before. As I listened to the album, I noticed that most of the tracks had a folk rock style, and were written to tell a story. The album also had a nice mix of acoustic guitar solos, drum rhythms, keyboard accompaniments, and vocal parts.

Released in 1972 as Jim Croce’s second album, “You Don’t Mess Around with Jim” was immediately a hit. If you haven’t heard the title track already, you should definitely check it out. It’s a great song, as is “Operator”. Sadly, Jim Croce only made two more records before he died in a plane crash on September 20, 1973.

What are your experiences with famous musicians? Have you ever met any? Gone to school with any? Share your story in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

