Good News for People Who Love Bad News by Modest Mouse

Posted: February 13, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , ,

Modest Mouse   

This weekend, I decided to go to a record store and buy a new album. Being that records are not in as popular demand as they were in the 70’s, there weren’t many record stores to choose from. Luckily, I was able to go to Warbler Records and Goods located in Santa Barbara, CA. You can find Warbler at http://warblerrecords.squarespace.com/. Warbler had a wide variety of records; from new vinyl to used vinyl as well as new and used turntables. After looking through the selection of records, I decided to choose a more current album to make sure I wouldn’t accidentally buy an album my Dad already owns. I decided to buy the album “Good News for People Who Love Bad News” by Modest Mouse. I had heard that Modest Mouse was pretty good so I thought I’d give them a listen.

Today, I grabbed the record and placed it upon the turntable. I was interested in hearing what Modest Mouse’s style was like. The music was very crisp and clear since it was new so I was able to notice a few key characteristics in Modest Mouse’s music. First of all, Modest Mouse wrote a lot more about things as they actually are rather than in a poetic and metaphorical sense. This was much different than the type of music I usually listen to where lyrics can be interpreted differently to each person. Another thing I noticed about this album is that there were many layers of sound. A few sounds to be heard include various string patterns, vocal parts, guitar solos, and the occasional indistinguishable noise that added a bit of mystery to the song. This album also included lots of resonance and dissonance which gave the music an aura of mystique.

Although the music was much different than what I usually listen to, a few songs stood out to me in particular. I really enjoyed “Float On”, “Ocean Breathes Salty”, and “Blame It on the Tetons”. This album was released April 6, 2004. “Float On” was Modest Mouse’s first song to gain mainstream popularity and became the band’s first #1 hit on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart. The song was also sampled in Lupe Fiasco’s 2010 song “The Show Goes On”. All in all, I enjoyed going to a record store and buying some new music, just as my Dad had when he was my age.

What are your experiences with Modest Mouse? Leave a message in the comments below.

Comments
  1. Eden Turner says:

    I love Modest Mouse and Warbler! your blog is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

